He also earns the titles of Most Improved Male Player of the Year and Male Singles Player of the Year.

Montréal, December 22, 2021 — On Wednesday, Tennis Canada announced that Félix Auger-Aliassime earned three Tennis Canada Excellence Awards: Male Player of the Year, Male Singles Player of the Year and Most Improved Male Player of the Year. The other Excellence Awards in men’s tennis went to Denis Shapovalov, Male Doubles Player of the Year, and Jaden Weekes, Male Junior Player of the Year.

“Félix, Denis and Jaden had excellent seasons, and we are very pleased to honour them today,” said Michael Downey, President and Chief Executive Officer of Tennis Canada. “In the challenging conditions brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic, all three found ways to stand out and deliver exceptional performances. Félix—the first Canadian to reach the men’s semifinal of the US Open—pursued his meteoric ascent, rising to a career-high World No.10. Denis was the first player since Milos Raonic to reach for the semifinals of Wimbledon before falling to World No.1 Novak Djokovic. Finally, on the junior circuit, Jaden showed us all that he is one of the brightest stars among the new generation of players.”

At only 21 years old, Félix Auger-Aliassime is Tennis Canada’s Male Player of the Yearand Male Singles Player of the Year for the first time in his career and the Most Improved Male Player of the Year for the second. The Quebecer started out the season at No.21 and ended it as the World No.11 after moving up to a career high at No.10. In addition to his brilliant run at Flushing Meadows, he competed in the quarterfinals of Wimbledon and two ATP finals (Stuttgart and Melbourne 2). He closed out the year with a record of 38 wins and 24 losses that includes notable victories over Top 10 players (No.6 Alexander Zverev, No.8 Matteo Berrettini, No.8 Roger Federer and No.10 Diego Schwartzman).

In addition to his remarkable season in singles, which he ended as World No.14 after climbing as high as No.10 in July and August, Denis Shapovalov made his mark in doubles and secured his third consecutive title of Male Doubles Player of the Year. With his long-time partner Rohan Bopanna, the Ontarian competed in the quarterfinals of two Masters 1000 events (Madrid and Indian Wells) and the semifinals of the ATP 250 St. Petersburg Open.

On the junior circuit, Jaden Weekes of Lasalle, Québec, had a very successful season. He posted a record of 23 wins and 11 losses (including an impressive 20–4 record on hard courts) and won two Grade 3 titles this year, in Canada (Repentigny, Québec) and Israel (Ramat Hasharon). His performances gave him a tremendous boost in the rankings from No.593 to No.81.


Year Male Player of the Year Female Player of the Year
1982 Réjean Genois Marjorie Blackwood
1983 Glenn Michibata Carling Bassett
1984 Martin Wostenholme Carling Bassett
1985 Glenn Michibata Carling Bassett
1986 Andrew Sznajder Helen Kelesi
1987 Grant Connell Helen Kelesi
1988 Andrew Sznajder Jill Hetherington
1989 Andrew Sznajder Helen Kelesi
1990 Grant Connell Helen Kelesi
1991 Grant Connell Patricia Hy
1992 Grant Connell Patricia Hy
1993 Greg Rusedski Patricia Hy
1994 Sébastien Lareau Jana Nejedly
1995 Grant Connell Patricia Hy-Boulais
1996 Sébastien Lareau Patricia Hy-Boulais
1997 Daniel Nestor Patricia Hy-Boulais
1998 No record of award No record of award
1999 No record of award No record of award
2000 Daniel Nestor and Sébastien Lareau Sonya Jeyaseelan
2001 Daniel Nestor Jana Nejedly
2002 Frédéric Niemeyer Maureen Drake
2003 Daniel Nestor Maureen Drake
2004 Daniel Nestor Aleksandra Wozniak
2005 Daniel Nestor Stéphanie Dubois
2006 Frank Dancevic Aleksandra Wozniak
2007 Daniel Nestor Stéphanie Dubois
2008 Daniel Nestor Aleksandra Wozniak
2009 Daniel Nestor Aleksandra Wozniak
2010 Daniel Nestor Rebecca Marino
2011 Milos Raonic Rebecca Marino
2012 Milos Raonic Aleksandra Wozniak
2013 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2014 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2015 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2016 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2017 Denis Shapovalov Bianca Andreescu
2018 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2019 Denis Shapovalov Bianca Andreescu
2020 Milos Raonic Leylah Annie Fernandez
2021 Félix Auger-Aliassime Leylah Annie Fernandez



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here