Fernandez also named Singles Player of the Year and Most Improved Player; Gabriela Dabrowski is the Doubles Player of the Year and Victoria Mboko is named Junior Player of the Year.

Montreal, Tuesday December 21, 2021 Tennis Canada announced on Tuesday that Leylah Annie Fernandez is the winner of the 2021 Excellence Awards in the categories of Female Player of the Year, Singles Player of the Year and Most Improved Player. Gabriela Dabrowski has again been named as the Doubles Player of the Year while Victoria Mboko is the Junior Player of the Year.

“Our congratulations go to Leylah, Gaby and Victoria on their exceptional 2021 seasons,” commented Michael Downey, President and CEO of Tennis Canada. “Despite all the challenges faced due to COVID-19, Canadian players were able to produce spectacular performances that we can all be proud of. Tennis fans around the world will never forget Leylah’s incredible run to the US Open final and her speech after the match showed such maturity beyond her years. Gaby continues to prove herself to be one of the best doubles players in the world and it was a joy to watch her lift the National Bank Open presented by Rogers trophy in Montreal. Victoria, meanwhile, undoubtedly has a very bright future and is already showing what she can do on the court. Now, we are looking forward to seeing what the 2022 season will bring.”

It is the second year in a row that Fernandez has won the Female Player of the Year award. The 19-year-old enjoyed a breakout season on the WTA Tour in 2021, which included her first-career title at the WTA 250 Abierto GNP Seguros in Monterrey, Mexico in March. She also played a leading role in Team Canada presented by Sobeys’ 4-0 win over Serbia in the Billie Jean King Cup Play-Offs in April, winning both of her singles rubbers. However, the teenager’s 2021 season will forever be remembered for her exhilarating run to the final of the year’s last Grand Slam at the US Open. In Flushing Meadows, Fernandez shocked the world as she swept aside four seeded players, including three ranked in the Top 5 (Naomi Osaka, Elina Svitolina and Aryna Sabalenka), to reach the championship match, which she lost to Emma Raducanu. She finishes the year at a career-high ranking of No. 24.

Dabrowski and Mboko also honoured
Having reached a career-high ranking of No. 5 in doubles in October, Dabrowski once again thrilled on the WTA Tour in 2021. The 29-year-old reached four WTA finals and the semi-finals of the US Open. Alongside partner Luisa Stefani, the Canadian claimed the National Bank Open doubles title in Montreal, beating No. 6 seeds Andreja Klepa? and Darija Jurak Schreiber in the final. Dabrowski was also part of a contingent of five Canadian players that represented the Maple Leaf at the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games in Tokyo this year and represented Canada at the Billie Jean King Cup Finals in November. Dabrowski and Stefani would have competed at the year-end WTA Finals were it not for an injury to the Brazilian.

Despite being just 15, Mboko is making waves on the junior circuit. The Burlington, Ontario native is No. 32 in the ITF Junior Rankings, won three titles in 2021 – in Tashkent, Santo Domingo and Las Vegas respectively – and competed in three other finals. She was part of Canada’s Junior Billie Jean King Cup Finals team, which reached the quarter-finals in Antalya, Turkey and is one of six athletes currently training at the National Tennis Centre presented by Rogers (NTC) in Montreal.


Year Male Player of the Year Female Player of the Year
1982 Réjean Genois Marjorie Blackwood
1983 Glenn Michibata Carling Bassett
1984 Martin Wostenholme Carling Bassett
1985 Glenn Michibata Carling Bassett
1986 Andrew Sznajder Helen Kelesi
1987 Grant Connell Helen Kelesi
1988 Andrew Sznajder Jill Hetherington
1989 Andrew Sznajder Helen Kelesi
1990 Grant Connell Helen Kelesi
1991 Grant Connell Patricia Hy
1992 Grant Connell Patricia Hy
1993 Greg Rusedski Patricia Hy
1994 Sébastien Lareau Jana Nejedly
1995 Grant Connell Patricia Hy-Boulais
1996 Sébastien Lareau Patricia Hy-Boulais
1997 Daniel Nestor Patricia Hy-Boulais
1998 No record of award No record of award
1999 No record of award No record of award
2000 Daniel Nestor and Sébastien Lareau Sonya Jeyaseelan
2001 Daniel Nestor Jana Nejedly
2002 Frédéric Niemeyer Maureen Drake
2003 Daniel Nestor Maureen Drake
2004 Daniel Nestor Aleksandra Wozniak
2005 Daniel Nestor Stéphanie Dubois
2006 Frank Dancevic Aleksandra Wozniak
2007 Daniel Nestor Stéphanie Dubois
2008 Daniel Nestor Aleksandra Wozniak
2009 Daniel Nestor Aleksandra Wozniak
2010 Daniel Nestor Rebecca Marino
2011 Milos Raonic Rebecca Marino
2012 Milos Raonic Aleksandra Wozniak
2013 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2014 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2015 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2016 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2017 Denis Shapovalov Bianca Andreescu
2018 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2019 Denis Shapovalov Bianca Andreescu
2020 Milos Raonic Leylah Annie Fernandez
2021 Will be announced on December 22, 2021 Leylah Annie Fernandez



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here