– Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, and Stan Wawrinka round out top four seeds in Montreal; Canadian Milos Raonic seeded No. 9
– Defending champion Simona Halep No. 2 in Toronto; Wimbledon winner Garbiñe Muguruza is No. 4 and runner-up Venus Williams set for No. 9 spot
– Top 16-ranked players in the tournaments to be seeded; Top 8 seeds receive a first-round bye
– Best tennis players in the world head to Canada this August 4-13, 2017

Toronto, July 31, 2017 – Tennis Canada announced on Monday the seedings for the 2017 Rogers Cup presented by National Bank in Toronto and Montreal. The two world No. 1s will take their position at the top of both draws, with Andy Murray set to play in Montreal and Karolina Pliskova leading the competition in Toronto. The seedings will follow the official ATP World Tour and WTA rankings released on Monday July 31, with the Top 16-ranked players entered at each tournament being seeded. All Top 8 seeds will receive a first-round bye.

Rogers Cup in Toronto will be Pliskova’s debut tournament as the world No. 1. The 2016 US Open finalist hit the highest pinnacle for the first time just two weeks ago. She will face formidable competition in the form of No. 2 seed Simona Halep, the 2016 champion and 2015 runner-up. Among those trying to stop Halep from a third straight final will be recent Grand Slam champions, Wimbledon winner Garbiñe Muguruza at No. 4 and French Open titlist Jelena Ostapenko at No. 12, plus former Rogers Cup champions Caroline Wozniacki (No. 6), Agnieszka Radwanska (No. 10), and Petra Kvitova (No. 14).

“We have a very strong field in Toronto this year with all of the Top 10 players in the world and we can’t wait to welcome these incredible athletes back to our city,” said Karl Hale, Rogers Cup Toronto tournament director. “It has been a very exciting year in women’s tennis, and we look forward to seeing who will rise to the top at Rogers Cup and be our next great champion. No matter what, we know the players will put on a great show for our spectators.”

Milos Raonic, who made his first Masters 1000 final in Montreal four years ago, will be the lone Canadian seeded as he takes his place as the No. 9 seed. Joining him will be three-time champion Rafael Nadal at No. 2 and No. 3 seed Roger Federer, the 2004 and 2006 Rogers Cup champion. Last year’s finalist Kei Nishikori is set to be seeded No. 8 while 2014 champion Jo-Wilfried Tsonga is No. 11.

“Next week is shaping up to be another phenomenal week of tennis in Montreal,” said Eugene Lapierre, Rogers Cup Montreal tournament director. “We look forward to seeing the best men’s tennis players in the world visit Uniprix Stadium once again, from the top stars like Rafael Nadal, Canada’s own Milos Raonic, and next generation talent such as Alexander Zverev. We are down to the last preparations of what will be a world-class experience for all of our players and guests.”

Both tournaments will see their Top 16 seeds comprised of players inside the Top 17 on the ATP World Tour and WTA rankings, only missing two players who have shut down their 2017 seasons – Serena Williams due to her first pregnancy and Novak Djokovic following an elbow injury.

Murray and Pliskova will be placed at the top of their respective draws, with No. 2 seeds Nadal and Halep on the opposite sides of the draw. The 16 seeded players cannot face each other until the third round. The official draws for both tournaments, to determine the roadmap of potential matches for the week ahead, will take place on Friday August 4.

The complete list of seedings is below:


1 Karolina Pliskova (CZE) 1
2 Simona Halep (ROU) 2
3 Angelique Kerber (GER) 3
4 Garbiñe Muguruza (ESP) 4
5 Elina Svitolina (UKR) 5
6 Caroline Wozniacki (DEN) 6
7 Johanna Konta (GBR) 7
8 Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS) 8
9 Venus Williams (USA) 9
10 Agnieszka Radwanska (POL) 10
11 Dominika Cibulkova (SVK) 11
12 Jelena Ostapenko (LAT) 12
13 Kristina Mladenovic (FRA) 13
14 Petra Kvitova (CZE) 14
15 Anastasija Sevastova (LAT) 16
16 Elena Vesnina (RUS) 17


1 Andy Murray (GBR) 1
2 Rafael Nadal (ESP) 2
3 Roger Federer (SUI) 3
4 Stan Wawrinka (SUI) 4
5 Marin Cilic (CRO) 6
6 Dominic Thiem (AUT) 7
7 Alexander Zverev (GER) 8
8 Kei Nishikori (JPN) 9
9 Milos Raonic (CAN) 10
10 Grigor Dimitrov (BUL) 11
11 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA) 12
12 David Goffin (BEL) 13
13 Tomas Berdych (CZE) 14
14 Pablo Carreno Busta (ESP) 15
15 Roberto Bautista Agut (ESP) 16
16 Lucas Pouille (FRA) 17

Rogers Cup presented by National Bank will welcome the best players of the ATP World Tour from August 4-13 at Uniprix Stadium in Montreal and the top players of the WTA from August 5-13 at Aviva Centre in Toronto. As a not-for-profit organization, Tennis Canada invests all net proceeds from the tournaments directly back into growing the sport of tennis across Canada. For more information and to purchase tickets, please visit rogerscup.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here