American CiCi Bellis, Olympian Laura Robson and Florida-Native Sachia Vickery Receive Wildcards

MIAMI – The Miami Open announced its wildcard entries for the 2015 tournament to be held at Crandon Park Tennis Center March 23-April 5. Among this year’s entries are 2014 U.S. Open phenom Cici Bellis, Olympic silver medalist Laura Robson, former top-10 Nicole Vaidisova, and local product Sachia Vickery.

The women’s main draw will begin Tuesday, March 24; while the men’s main draw kicks-off on Wednesday, March 25. Qualifying rounds for both the women and men start on Monday, March 23. Fans can catch the early action with ticket prices starting as low as $9.

Bellis, made history at the 2014 U.S. Open when she knocked off Australian Open finalist and 12th seeded player Dominika Cibulkova in the first round of the U.S. Open. She became the tournament’s youngest, first-round winner since Anna Kournikova (1996) and youngest American since Mary Joe Fernandez accomplished the same feat in 1986. Bellis ended the year ranked as the No. 1 junior in the world.

Robson, who was awarded a wildcard entry into qualifying, brings an Olympic silver medal to Miami with her. She teamed with Andy Murray in mixed doubles at the 2012 Olympics in London and captured her first career Olympic medal.

Former world top-10, Vaidisova, is a six-time winner on the WTA tour. After almost a five-year absence, the Czech returned to tennis at the end of 2014 and is looking to make an impact on the purple courts.

Vickery, a local product out of Hollywood (FL), received a wildcard entry into qualifying. She was the 2014 USTA National Junior Champion; and has made two career Grand Slam appearances. Advancing to the second round of the 2013 US Open, after receiving a wildcard into the tournament’s main draw, the young American hopes to have success on her home turf.

The complete list of wildcards for men into the main draw is Andrey Rubley, Hyeon Chung, Ryan Harrison and Kyle Edmund. Receiving wildcard entries into qualifying on the men’s side include Gianluigi Quinzi, Omar Jasika, Michael Mmoh, Taro Daniele and Elias Ymer. Women receiving wildcards into the main draw include Cic Bellis, Indy Devroome, Nicole Vaidisova, Sorana Cirstea, Natalya Vikhlyantseva, Paula Badosa. Laura Robson, Oceane Dodin, Fanny Stollar, Ipek Soylu, Aranza Rus, Sachia Vickery, all received qualifying wildcard entries.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here