Rising Stars Including Harrison, Watson and Duval Granted Main Draw Entry

MIAMI, Fla. (www.sonyopentennis.com) – The 2014 Sony Open has announced its wildcard entries this year which feature former World No.2 Vera Zvonerava, former World No. 3 Nadia Petrova and former top-10 Marcos Baghdatis. A total of four wildcard spots were given in the men’s draw including American Ryan Harrison. On the women’s side, a total of six wildcard entries were granted including, Miami-native Victoria Duval and British-talent Heather Watson.

The women’s main draw will begin Tuesday, March 18, while the men’s main draw kicks-off on Wednesday, March 19. Qualifying rounds for both the men and women start Monday, March 17.

Fans can catch the action live. Tickets to the 2014 Sony Open are on sale now and can be purchased online at www.sonyopentennis.com, at our Dadeland Mall kiosk or by phone at 305-442-3367. An exhilarating two weeks of tennis conclude with the women’s final on Saturday, March 29 and the men’s final on Sunday, March 30.

Zvonerava, a two- time Grand Slam finalist and 12-time winner on the WTA tour, is working her way back to form after missing all of 2013 with a shoulder injury.  A 13-time WTA tour champion, Petrova is one-half of the 2013 Sony Open women’s doubles champion, and is looking to duplicate her success on the singles side. Baghdatis, the 2006 Australian Open finalist, has won four career titles on the ATP tour.

Harrison and Duval are looking to make their mark in Miami. Harrison has already reached six ATP World Tour semi finals in his young career and is working his way back up the rankings. Duval, who received national notoriety after qualifying for the 2013 US Open main draw and stunning No. 11 seed Samantha Stosur in the first round, is making her second Sony Open appearance and hopes to improve on last year’s second round finish in front of her home crowd.

Watson, who in 2012 became the first British woman in 24 years to win a WTA title. The Brit is healthy and enthusiastic about playing on her favorite surface here in Miami.

The complete list of wildcards for men into the main draw is Karen Khachanov, Ryan Harrison, Kyle Edmund and Marcos Baghdatis. On the women’s side the entire list includes Heather Watson, Victoria Duval, Indy de Vroome, Vera Zvonareva, Rebeka Peterson and Nadia Petrova.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here